Achill Island

Two weekends ago I took a trip north to county Mayo, specifically Mulranny and Achill Island. I didn’t get up to Mulranny where I was staying until late that night, so Friday I slept in a little bit and ended up having a huge fry breakfast in the morning after seeing the sights around Mulranny. The weather was gorgeous on Saturday so luckily we took the opportunity to have a little road trip all around Achill Island, which happens to be the largest island off the coast of Ireland. I would immensely recommend a tour around here if you’re ever in Ireland, because the drive itself is gorgeous. The picture above here is located in Doogort, which has a nice beach and a lovely little hotel right on the water. There was actually a wedding there when we were driving through.

The scenery included several gorgeous beaches, including the one directly above here, lots of sheep, and copious amounts of green. The island was relatively quiet as I don’t think tourist season has really kicked in at all, so it was kind of nice to have a very calm day driving around. Along our drive there was an old IRA pub that I would have loved to go have a pint in, but unfortunately it was closed. During the spring/summer there’s a lot of room to go camping and spend time outside though so hopefully I can make it back over to Achill Island at some point soon!

On the way back we stopped by a country little pub pretty much on the side of the road, called Compass where I was literally the only lady in the whole pub besides the bartender, which I thought was pretty fun. Then instead of going out to dinner a three-course feast was prepared, including bruschetta, thick rib-eye steaks, potatoes, grilled onions, Bulmer’s, and ice cream with smarties on top. Needless to say this was delicious and might have been one of my favorite parts of the weekend. The next morning however the weather took a bit of a down turn, so I slept in for quite a while, then we heading back towards Galway, stopping through some towns on the way home.

On the way home, we stopped off first at the County Mayo Sailing Club, which was really interesting to see. There I saw where an old British Coast Guard station was, and was able to climb to the top of the place and get a wonderful view of all the islands around county Mayo. I also fed a couple of donkeys and saw some amazing sailboats that are specific to each part of Ireland. After that we stopped by Croagh Patrick which I definitely hope to climb some day soon. The scenery there was gorgeous and it was nice to be able to get out and walk around at the base of the mountain. Across the road from the mountain base is also the potato famine memorial, as seen in the pictures of the skeleton ship, which was remarkable. As soon as I walked on site there you can just feel the history and realize it’s impossible to understand what the people of Ireland went through during this time, and how it still affects them today. Even though it brought down the light heartedness of trip for a little bit, I’m still very happy that I went and saw it. Our last stop off before heading back home was to Westport, which I definitely NEED to go back to. The place was seriously gorgeous and I’ve heard that the nightlife there is really fun. The last two pictures in the bunch are from there and luckily when my dad comes he’s showed some interest in going there as well.

80 Comments

Filed under Ireland, Travel

80 responses to “Achill Island

  1. David Kentie

    Love the pictures. Wish I could get out to Ireland. Living in Newfoundland will be fun though.

  2. LOVE Achill! I plan to be back there again in June. You need to get back to see that pub though-it’s great!

  3. Spectacular photos! Congrats on being Freshly Pressed…

    🙂

  4. Those are some beautiful pictures.

  5. I’ll be touring Ireland in July, and your photos made me even more excited to go! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  6. Pingback: Achill Island (via You Say Goodbye and I Say Menlo) | Top world news online

  7. wow, what a trip!! nice, thanks to share

  8. Gosh this make’s me miss my travels. Beautiful pictures 🙂
    They scream backpacking around the world. (for me as I’m land locked presently)
    Thank’s for sharing.

  9. archiehopeful

    Oh, your pictures are awesome! They make me “homesick!” I studied abroad in Louisburgh (outside of Westport) in 2003. My brother is there now! Have a blast!

  10. Pingback: Achill Island (via You Say Goodbye and I Say Menlo) « Barbara Edwards Soprano

  11. Sounds like a great place. Thank you for sharing your experience.

  12. Love the photos, looks really nice there. I’d def want to check Ireland out.

  13. What beautiful pictures. I’m Irish and I have always dreamed of going to Ireland. I just got a touch of it through your great words and pictures. Thanks

  14. Named after the Achilliad’s forefathers, no doubt! Kudos on Freshly Achill Air Pressing on, Dreamer of Goodly things!

  15. Lucy, thanks for the wonderful photos. I’m a native of the west of Ireland and Achill is one of my favourite places on earth. Enjoy your stay in Galway and keep up the blog! Patricia

  16. Pingback: A Literary Canter Around Achill Island « Not a Word of a Lie

  17. Sold! I’m going. My wife and I were planning a trip to Ireland anyway.

  18. Achill is my favourite place on this earth. The drama of it’s landscape and weather have held a lasting lure over me since I was a little girl. Going there felt like coming home, for want of a better and less used expression.
    The Minaunview is a Republican pub as opposed to an IRA pub.

  19. excellent. It must be way fun out there.

  20. Hi

    make sure and come up to Donegal next time – fabulous pictures
    Team @ http://www.siansplan.com

  21. schlemmermeyer

    I love Ireland. I will recommend your blog and read it with considerable attention, Thomas Schlemmermeyer, Blumenau, SC, Brazil.

  22. Great post…..love the site! 🙂

  23. lucy i am so proud of you! i was looking at freshly pressed today and i saw MY roommates face there. your photos are simply amazing dahhhlin’ simply amazing.

  24. Ireland is truly amazing! I think my husband and I will never get enough of it! Come over to my blog, I got my honeymoon pictures there right now. I hope you will post more pictures of you travels soon!

  25. An excellent post and some lovely images. Thank you for this and the memories it helped bring back of Ireland.

  26. Your pictures are absolutely gorgeous! In every way, I am so unbelievably jealous of you! I dream to make it to Ireland for a couple of months, but it’s long time till then.
    I love your commentary about your journeys, it’s very cute [[ Not in a belittling way, the makes me smile way]]
    Have you ever made it over to Roscommon? Or Perhaps the Aran Islands.
    My family has a decrepit house in Roscommon, my goal being to restore it. But Aran Islands, which if your at Galway I assume you have seen, was the most amazing part of Ireland I’ve seen.
    Anyways, love your post! I look forward to reading more.
    -Red

  27. Achill Island is one of my favorite spots on earth, particularly Keem beach. I found you by chance on my WordPress homepage and am wistful for Ireland, and particularly Mayo and Galway. Thanks for getting my heart racing with all of the photos. Enjoy your continued travels.

  28. Beautiful pictures 🙂 That’s a one great trip!

  29. Ron_Effing_Swanson

    I’ve always wanted to go to Ireland. My grandparents tell me it’s great! Love the pictures by the way! 😀

  30. Congrats on being freshly pressed. Glad you are enjoying Ireland. I’ve lived here most of my life and have to confess I haven’t been to Achill yet. It’s been on my to do list for an age.
    Enjoy the rest of your stay.

  31. jillfeyka

    Love to read about travels. Ireland is one of the places I hope to visit in the future. Looks like you are having a wonderful time. Safe travels and ENJOY!

    Thanks for sharing. Congrats on becoming FP!

  32. wow. it looks amazing!! congrats on FP!!!

  33. Nice photos! Are you Canadian? I am!

  34. Cool pictures I feel like I was right there with you.

    Blessings,

    Ava
    xox

  35. Beautiful pictures, delightful vacation.

  36. Lovely photos and stories, thanksamillion.

    I live here in Swords county Dublin so Achill Island is just a five hour drive away. It’s a place that draws one back time and time again. The Atlantic drive is well worth exploring and the people there are lovely.

  37. Great photos!!
    Looks like you had a really good time. I might want to make a trip there for that food! (oh and the views.)

  38. A really big “WOW”! Nice trip.

  39. Achill is just awesome! And so are your pictures! I had the luck to spend two weeks in Achill-Keel in 2009, I’ll never forget that place…and the people! You brought up great memories, thanks 🙂

  40. Antara

    Oh my god wow. May I just say I feel insanely jealous? I really need to get out of my house sometime soon! Beautiful pictures! And congratulations on being Freshly Pressed! 😀

    -Antara

  41. Great photos and great adventure!

    Thanks for sharing your adventure with us here and congratulations on being Freshly Pressed!

    🙂

  42. I love the variety of your images! The night shot of the street is so perfect, as is the one with the cloud over the mountain. I’ve been to Ireland four times and it is spectacular in so many ways…

    Clearly your blog post has inspired many readers!

  43. Wow! Those are some awesome pictures. I definitely have to put Achill Island on my list of places to visit. Also, that red and blue sheep you ran across was quite unique looking!

  44. Happy St. Patrick’s day, March 12th. Getting ready to attend Philadelphia’s 247 parade. Love your blog and the photos.

  45. great photos. The truth is I had never heard about this islands.

  46. so pretty .. totally reignites the wanderlust!

  47. Such sensational work!

  48. Muy hermoso, que belleza tiene nuestro planeta no? y pensar que no lo cuidamos bien

  49. Loved your pictures! I was there in 1986… Wow, I’m ancient!

  50. Was living five and a half years in Ireland and never made it to Achill, even I had a friend with a B&B there – such a shame

  51. ANN

    Thank you for this post and all the great photos. I lived in Ireland, in and near Dublin for 12 years. I returned to live in the US in 1990 and sadly the only time I was able to get back to Ireland for a visit was 1993. Oh how I would love to get back for a long visit and be able to travel around that beautiful tiny country again.

    Where are you actually from yourself?

  52. Bee Holistic Cat Rescue and Care

    Ah, nostalgia…I am Cynthia Campbell Burke, and the Campbell’s Pub is right there at the base of Croagh Patrick…UNCHANGED since inception in 16??…we still have family there. We saw Matt Mulloy et al in Matt Malloy’s Pub when we were there…it is lovely!
    Thanks! (My blog is at BeeHolisticCatRescueandCare, page “Bee Daily News”!

  53. the island is gorgeous and I hope I will get an oppotunity to go there and see the scenery

  54. Sold! I’m going. My wife and I were planning a trip to Ireland anyway.

  55. You did Spectacular job writing this blog!

  56. Beautiful pictures! and a nice read, congrats on being FP!

  57. What fantastic photos! I loved your blog! That cliff looked scarey!

  58. wow, its amazing pics good one and thanks for sharing

  59. Love to see this picture of Ireland.. 🙂

  60. Congrats on being Freshly Pressed! I love the pictures of the skeleton ship. My daughter has been urging me to take her back to Ireland, though it likely won’t happen until next year, but you’ve given me some places to add to my list of must-see spots.

  61. Great pics – Ireland is one of my favourite countries to visit (isn’t Bulmers fab!), congrats on FP 🙂

  62. hello. there.

    it must have been very cold. but the views are terrific. i like the last pic very much. 😀

    btw, my idea of Ireland only comes from having read the book Angela’s Ashes and two other books by the same author. i’ve also read A Playboy of the Western World and Dubliners by James Joyce. but the last two don’t count, do they?

    i love watching Beyond River Cottage, the cooking show. that counts, huh? :s

    thanks for sharing your pics and your story. regards,

  63. Looks quite remote but so ruggedly beautiful! I love stopping at country pubs- why is it that the food always tastes better there? Nothing better than a pint in front of a crackling fire….lol…

  64. wow your pictures look fantastic! love your post looks like a chill place

  65. Sam

    Amazing Pictures. You’re a skilled photographer. Newfoundland will be awesome.

  66. Wow what gorgeous photos.. would love to hear about your equipment in a new post perhaps? Congrats on being freshly pressed. I’d love to get out there one day!

    http://sociosound.wordpress.com

  67. namagueyusdi

    I love your pictures and they said pretty much how’s beautiful there. Hopefully I can go there someday and enjoy the trip as you did 🙂

  68. wanderfrolics

    LOVELY photos! 🙂 You might like my blog entry on Achill at:

    Giant Rhubarb and Other Plagues of Achill Island

Leave a comment